The g7+ and the Government of Timor Leste signs the Headquarters Agreement for five years (2022 – 2027) to support g7+ advocacy work on peace and Development

The Government of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, represented by His Excellency Julião da Silva, Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs signed an Agreement with g7+, represented by Dr. Helder da Costa, General Secretary of g7+ at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation on Monday, 21 March 2022.

General Secretary of g7+ in his opening remarks expressed his appreciation to the government of Timor-Leste for demonstrating its commitment to continue support g7+ noble work on peacebuilding and statebuilding.

Timor-Leste plays an important role not only as the host of g7+ Headquarters but also as one of the founder and donor to the operationalisations of the g7+ advocacy at the Global and national level.

Timor-Leste has been a country that inspire others g7+ member states in sharing its experience on its success story on election, natural resource management and reconciliation.

The General Secretary concluded his intervention by emphasizing that the g7+ will be ready to support Timor-Leste’s candidature for Human Right Council at the United Nation in 2024.

Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation of Timor-Leste in his speech congratulated the g7+ collective achievements at the global level. The government Timor-Leste considers g7+ as one of its priorities to strengthen its multilateral cooperation. Therefore, the government’s committed to support USD$1,000,000 (one million US dollars) per year for the period of five years, from 2022 to 2027. Vice Minister hoped that the support can facilitate g7+ in the implementation of the g7+ strategic priorities on helping its Member States achieving peace and stability.





Related Post

Quando Eu Partir
Eminent Person visits the g7+ European Lisbon to strengthen the g7+ work globally amid Pandemic.
The g7+ officially participated in the 76th United Nations General Assembly as Observer.
Courtesy visit of g7 + to the Executive Secretary of the Community of Portuguese-speaking Countries